Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

So I’m A Writer

Really I’m not a REAL published writer, yet… πŸ™‚
The truth is I haven’t really finished a story and as for getting one published well, that is a whole other story. I love writing the beginnings of stories. I half wish that I could start the story and let someone finish them for me. Then again I would probably read it and go… Well I’m not sure about that part, this is great, but that part… that part there is missing something. Then again I might just be thrilled with the out come. Right now they are those unfinished projects in the back of my closet (really they are beside my bed but for the sake of the phrase.) Soone of Β my main goals for the year, besides reading my Bible through, is to get one story finished. I’ll have to let you know in January if I manage to finish one. πŸ™‚

Β I have been disobeying one of the rules of writing for a long time, well actually two. One is not making outlines and the other is working on more then one story at a time. The later I have a major problem with because while I work on one story I get ideas for a new one and I just have to write it down. =)

RecentlyΒ I have learned that for some people it is hard to come up with ideas. For a while I wondered about that, I am not sure wether to be sorry for them or to be jealous that they get the chance to work out one story before they get another.

Although I have had some benefits from working on several stories at the same time. Like I have the skeleton for a story and the other week I figured out the body of the story. Then there is the aspect of working on stories during a certain mood that I might be in. There is one story I started during the winter and I can’t write anything good unless I’m listening to Christmas music. It is so funny! =)

What motivates you to write? Do you work on several stories at the same time? Am I the only one who hates writing outlines?

July 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

15 Comments »

  1. My problem was that I had too many ideas. I was right where you were with stacks of unfinished stories and not one complete plotline anywhere. I solved the issue by making a folder called an “idea box” on my computer and putting all my ideas and half finished drafts in there. I picked out two stories from these, and left them in my main documents. Those were my shorts for the month, which my goal was to finish. Then I made myself a promise.

    I would finish a draft of at least one of those stories. I would not take another story out until I finished one of those stories. If I got an idea for a different story, I would jot down what came easily and put it in the idea box, and not take it one step farther.

    Did I mention I would finish a draft? Even if it was bad? Even if it wasn’t how I wanted it? Even if it was misspelled with flat characters and poor dialog?

    I did finish it, and it was the crappiest story ever written. Happily it cleaned up pretty good. After that month. A long time after. πŸ˜‰

    Comment by uninvoked | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for your ideas! I am happy to hear that you were able to finish a story! πŸ™‚ (Even if it wasn’t what you wanted.) I never thought of working the story out in a month! I have been encouraged!

      Comment by Joy of Dawn | July 27, 2009 | Reply

      • It’s not that it wasn’t what I wanted, it’s just that it is really hard to make yourself write that first draft. I’m not sure how to explain it, but it’s kind of like trying to bash through a barrier with a battering ram. Sometimes you have to hit that wall several times before it comes down. When you finally push through…it’s not really that hard anymore.

        My short story was a really good rough draft, but it was hard for me to realize that it was okay not to perfect each sentence as I went along. It’s okay to be bad the first time. Once you realize that, the sky is the limit.

        Keep going. I’ll be your cheering squad. ^^

        Comment by uninvoked | July 30, 2009

  2. Ahhh, outlines.

    Once upon a time, I thought I needed an outline to write a book. I’m learning that is only half true. For my whole life, I’ve loved organization and outlines and stuff like that. Every book I tried to write, I’d come up with its whole story, and then try to flesh it out…and I’d never get past the second chapter, because I’d be so bored.

    Then, I got an idea. It started with a name, continued with an image, and then my character was born. I continued to write 86,000 words of a first draft with no outline and only vague ideas of where it was going. By the end of that draft, it actually turned out to be more cohesive than I thought it would.

    I’m on my second draft, now. Quickly, I’m learning the second draft is not like the first. I’ve deepened my characters, therefore expanded my plot and subplots. In order to weave them into the story, I found an outline was necessary this time around. It’s not totally detailed (if you’re curious, I wrote a post called “Focus & Wayward Scenes” that talks a little more about that…) but it’s been helpful.

    Wow. So long-winded, sorry. πŸ™‚ I’m totally thinking a lot about outlines and structure, lately, so it just struck so many thoughts at once πŸ™‚ Best of luck on your writing! Hope to see you around!

    Comment by owlandsparrow | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • I am very glad to hear that outlines aren’t the first thing necessary to write a story! I will read your post later!
      I don’t mind long windedness. πŸ™‚ I like to hear from people!

      Comment by joyofdawn | July 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. Agh, one more question: how are you going about reading the Bible in a year? Straight through, or portions from different books? What are you reading currently?

    Comment by owlandsparrow | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • I wanted to read it through straight but I knew that some spots are harder for me to read. So I split it into four sections, starting in Genesis, Psalm, Matthew, and 1 Corinthians. Now I am in Numbers, Psalms (because I am enjoying it and trying to get other books), Matthew, and Titus. As you can see I have a long way to go if I was following a schedule I’d probably get through it faster but I ‘m enjoying the things God is showing right where I’m at.

      Comment by joyofdawn | July 27, 2009 | Reply

      • That sounds like a great way to do it. I’ve heard of splitting it in three sections before (OT, NT, & Psalms/Proverbs) but not four. Good job for getting all the way to Numbers! I went through a program at my church where we primarily studied the Old Testament (since the New is so often focused on, they decided on the road less traveled…). It was so much more amazing than I ever realized! I love the first five books of the Bible.

        Comment by owlandsparrow | July 27, 2009

  4. Okay, I have to admit I don’t do outlines when writing…but I probably should. It’s just that I get going when writing the story and don’t even think about writing out an outline!

    Of course I have to listen to music when I write, sometimes it’s the only way I can concentrate and it gets me in the mood of what I’m writing…especially for emotions.

    What usually gets me in the mood for writing? I’m always in the mood, I just don’t always have time to sit and write it all out. My bro and I are always talking about our latest story idea and what we could do with it. It’s just planning the time to sit and do it. I have found that if you really desire to write then the best way to get a story done is to work on it a little everyday. Even if it’s just a few minutes before bed or when you wake up. Always take the time to write something…you may find that you actually finish your story faster!!

    When my laptop worked I would sit down for what was intended to be a few minutes, but usually it lasted longer as I got into my story. It was great! I actually had finished my first chapter to where I like it and was working on the second chapter. I had even started a bit of an outline as I went along…it was a complicated story so I needed a base line where I could keep track of what I wanted…at least for the first draft. Then my laptop went out…and now it’s been a struggle to get on the computer and write. For a while I was using the old fashion way, a notebook and a good pen. But my hand got so swollen I couldn’t write. (I do a lot of writing and I had to write fast because when in the zone I my brain goes faster than a pen and paper type of writing…for me…and I don’t know shorthand so it’s a challenge.) Now I have to try and find time on the computer, which is hard due to four other people who are always needing to be on at any given time.

    A tip though….always save your writing not just on your computer but also on a CDRW or a memory stick. It’s no fun losing all your hard work. Sometimes I even do it every few minutes as our computer is not doing so great right now.

    Comment by Rebekah | July 29, 2009 | Reply

    • I know what you mean! Once I start to write I hate stopping. I lose focas. But as for outlines, I only wrote then when asked by an information book or english course.
      There are a couple of stories I have a hard time writing without music. Usually they where born while listen to that music. Like at Christmas time…
      My sister and I share Dad’s old slow laptop. Mostly I let her use it because I have a hard time coming up with anything while staring at a blank screen. There is just something about flipping the page and writing on a new sheet of paper. Wish I could get my attention past the screen it when be so much easier to use a computer and keep it organized!
      There was one school year when we lost a computer. It was toward the beginning of the year so we were blessed not to lose to much work but it was a good reminder to save thing in more then one place. I always like to have a paper copy. If I ever get into typing up a story I’ll have to get something to save it on. πŸ™‚
      By the way which of your brothers is a writer? I keep tossing it around in my mind and I can’t decide! I could make a fifty-fifty guess? =)

      Comment by joyofdawn | July 30, 2009 | Reply

      • Dan is the other writer…he and I have been working on some ideas together. He always gets these super ideas and then I know how to write it out into a story form as I’ve been studying writing for a while now. So we work well together…and it’s a lot of fun!

        Comment by Rebekah | July 30, 2009

  5. I am soooo enjoying all the comments! I have learned somethings from all of you! πŸ™‚
    The mood of writing is very important for me when writing a couple of my stories. The others I hadn’t tried it on yet…YET… I definatley am. First I think I’ll take Uninvoke’s idea of kepping out two stories and kepping an idea box. I’ll try to at least write for a couple minutes a day. (I’ve been needing to make a scedule!) After I manage to batter through to that first draft maybe I might try to see how it looks in an outline. In the end a long journey maybe someday I’ll actually get to see a book published. Maybe. πŸ™‚

    If you are just reaing this post and comments I’d still like to hear from you! πŸ™‚ I’m always willing to learn what I can!

    Sooo… I’ll keep on writing.

    Comment by joyofdawn | July 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. I can’t wait to read some of your stories!! Are you going to post a sample or some chapters on your blog???

    A place I use is Writing.com. You can put your stories out there and people will review them. Sometimes I’ve gotten great advice, misspelled words were caught, and sometimes I was given a new idea. It’s great as some of the people are freelance writers or have published a book or even and agent. You can start out with a free account and upgrade if you want to. You can check out my page to see what it’s like: http://www.writing.com/main/view_item/user_id/soaringeagles

    I feel like I should try and get as much experience as I can and WDC is a good place to go.

    Comment by Rebekah | July 30, 2009 | Reply

    • If someone wants to sign up they can copy and paste this link: http://www.Writing.Com/main/em/box/INBOX/msg/2000?rfrid=soaringeagles

      Sorry, I forgot to get that in the last post…

      Comment by Rebekah | July 30, 2009 | Reply

      • Thanks for the weblink! I did read some of your stories one that site. I wanted to join before I commented.
        I thought that it was Dan because he is the one who has the about himself on your webpage but then I wasn’t sure.
        Re and I work on stories together like that. She is the giving me the boost to continue. “Am, I want to read more about…” We give each other ideas. I don’t think that I would be writing if it wasn’t for her. I started writing to encourage her but it seems to go both ways. πŸ™‚

        Comment by joyofdawn | July 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

