Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Create-A-Recipe

Sometimes I get really hungry and I have no idea what to make. Usually I make some rice, corn, and kidney bean skillet concoction. However I have recently found other things to make from scratch. One night I made chicken enchiladas without any recipe!  The chicken enchiladas were the best that I have thus far made!  There was just a little of this and a little of that left in the fridge so I just needed to find a way to put them together. I made a soup a day or two after that but it didn’t turn out as nice. If something didn’t fail once in a while then I wouldn’t learn anything, right? The other day we had left overs from tacos. So I put them together in a casserole and served the warm dish over the last of the lettuce from the garden.  Thus I have learned to love leftovers.

That is creating a recipe and then there is adapting a recipe. I do this a lot with pancakes. I have a basic recipe from Mom and I always find ways to change it. Make it lighter with cornmeal. Healthier with wheat flour. Tastier with chocolate chips, blueberries, bananas, and/or nuts ect… I also do this with my oatmeal by adding applesauce, banana, raisins, blueberries, and oh so many other things! I find this to be fun and delicious!

The best thing to do is be adventuresome. If you don’t try it you’ll never know. I like to try dishes out on myself first if I can but I am glad that I have a family who is willing to try them with me. (Even if they do look at their plates and wonder if they should dare.) 🙂

October 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I LOVE leftovers. They really do lend themselves to experimentation. I’ve made some really nasty looking stuff, but hey it’s better to learn from those leftovers that would have gotten pushed way back in the refrigerator and gotten fuzzy anyway.

    Comment by rose of sharon | October 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

