Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Watching

When they say that people are watching you, they mean it, so you better believe it! I can say so ’cause I am probably one of them! 🙂

Owl and Sparrow suggested I watch people to help me build my characters character. 🙂 I had the opportunity to do just that today! We went down toward Williamsport to do a visit-Gram-and-shopping-date-combo. You know every time I walked into a store I had every intention of watching people. It was so confusing that I can hardly believe that I used to live there. They changed Wal-Mart so it is hardly recognizable inside or out! Traffic was crazy and I was glad that I am not driving yet! 🙂

Anyway, even though my mind didn’t focus on the one thing that I wanted it to, I did end up with a very good experience. I was at a (shall we say) uppity dented can store. I found some nice deals on chocolate! Which I have decided to find a creative way to bake with…  At any rate it was Friday night and there was only one cash register open. Once I was in line I noticed that the clerk was a young man. Second, I noticed his smile and happy continence. Third, I noticed that he was new to the job. Fourth, I noticed that he spoke fine except when it came to prices. He seemed to repeat a price twice every time he said one. To be honest the only person I had ever heard stutter was my brother when he was learning to use sentences. So that was what caught my attention!

When I am getting checked out, the clerk always seems to ask, “How I am today?” My answer is always, “Good, how are you?” I can’t seem to stop myself. It just comes without me thinking about it, a habit I have formed. Usually they give an automatic response that reminds me somehow of a computer, “Good!” After the transaction is done and I am handed my change, I always find myself saying, “Thanks, have a good day!” If I get a response it is, “You too,” I either smile or say, “Thank you!”

Without fail that was just how the encounter proceeded. Normal, ordinary, but this time I shall remember it. Why? I’m not really sure. Maybe because he was nice and had a great smile or maybe because I just found out that I formed a habit without thinking about it. Perhaps it is because today I have found myself people watching without realizing it. Then again, maybe it had to do with that curious look he had that seemed to say, “Your different but why and how?”

I get that a lot because of my dress and head covering.  I just keep smiling because I am thinking, “Who are you and what is your story?” =)

P.S. Everyone has a story of their life. I am always curious about what they are when I see people. I think that there are a lot of life stories that are never written down, and should be, if only someone would capture them on paper! Anyway, there are lots of people in the world, if I can just single out a few at a time… I’ll probably end up with another story idea! lol

November 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have to admit when out and about I frequently view people as potential characters. That means while I’m talking to randoms I’m busy cataloging their most noticeable traits and reconstructing them into a suitable character. It has been pointed out that some of my observations are uncharitable but my characters don’t populate a soap opera. Not everybody is a shiny beautiful person and observing people is a good way to gain ideas for the filler characters.
    Thanks for sharing this and your observations.

    Comment by Cassandra Jade | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a fun trip! Mmmm, the chocolate-baking sounds like fun – tasty, too. They changed our Walmart, too, and since I don’t go in often, it’s difficult to figure everything out.

    Comment by owlandsparrow | November 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

