Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

NaNo First Draft of ‘Reason For Revenge’

Hurray, I’m sooo excited! I finally finished my first draft for NaNoWriMo!

If it wasn’t one in the morning with nearly everyone in bed I’d run around the house, sing on the top of my lungs, dance with the dog, throw some snowballs, bake cookies, and then plunge back into the story to work the second draft. My word count is over 25,000! I’m hoping that I can go back through and fix some of the things I skipped over and bring my word count up before the bell tolls! That’d be great! I never really believed I’d make it this far! I hoped I would, I planned on it, but now that it is here I don’t believe it. I’m half afraid to go back over it! I might end up with a new twist and find myself on a whole new adventure. 🙂

I work at the antique shop most of the day tomorrow so I won’t even be able to peek at the story until after supper. Probably a good thing, it will give me a little time to think it all over. So good morning to everyone, I’m off to bed to catch some sleep before Mom comes and wakes me up!

November 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Great job! I bet it feels so satisfying to look at your completed draft! 🙂 I love the read-through phase of things. In my opinion, revision is just as much (or more) fun than the actual first-draft writing. Cutting things out, adding things in, tweaking language and details – that’s where the project strengthens. It may not feel as adventurous as trapping the first draft onto the page, but it is just as satisfying. Good luck starting this new phase!

    Comment by owlandsparrow | November 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yeah! It is one of the best feelings ever! Thanks for all your encouragement along the way, it helped out more then you can guess, well, maybe you can! I’m all excited to start working on the revisions.

    Comment by joyofdawn | November 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. You’re welcome! I’m so glad I could be encouraging and helpful, after all, that’s what blog-friends are for, right? 🙂 Keep it up, and good luck closing that gap!

    Comment by owlandsparrow | November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

