Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Draft: One Of Many

I restarted Draft Two this afternoon. This  is to be a rewrite of the story several times over. I am going to write the tale from each characters point of view so that I can better understand each character. In Draft Three I am hoping to combined most of what I have found out about the characters in to one copy. I’m sure there will probably be a Draft Four but I don’t know yet what it will entail.

The challenge is that as I start each character in their setting. The one character is in a completely different state. So I am deciding what is happening between all the space where the others had filled in. I think it will be interesting to find out what is happening behind the scenes. I guess that I wasn’t able to describe some of the things taking place in my story because I wasn’t completely sure what was happening either! There is a lot of space that my main character takes up. I’ve got to know what the side kick is doing while the main is busy.

I am hand writing this draft because I can sit down and write at anytime without having to worry about if someone needs on the computer. Although I am also hoping that it will bring me closer to the people as they go through each event. So the goal of Drafts Two is to know my characters. I know there are charts and things to help with that but I can’t fill in what I don’t know. 🙂

I am working on my November Novel, since I didn’t say earlier… I am hoping to get this draft done by the end of February. Then I can start wrapping things up in Draft Three, fingers crossed for March. Maybe I can tie loose ends in Draft Four. There is the plan for draft layouts!

January 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Look at you with your goals! I’m so proud of you. Looks like a great plan, and I totally relate to a lot of what you wrote. I couldn’t really go any further until I knew all my characters better. It’s interesting, too, now that I’m reading through my second draft, to see how much I still didn’t know about my setting at that time – I now have a solid idea of what everything looks like, and it’s easy to see where I used totally vague descriptions! Good luck with your plan! 🙂

    Comment by owlandsparrow | January 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks!

    Comment by joyofdawn | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Umm…how are we doing with the end of February thing?

    Comment by dad | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • lol! Well this soar throat thing was deffinately a set back! I’m going to get back to work on this later today I hope. 🙂

      Comment by joyofdawn | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Comment by joyofdawn | April 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

