Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Three Explorations

My Desk Buddy
My desk buddy.

Today I was sitting at the computer with my new writing friend. I call him Lipless due to the fact that he decided to fight with his brother and, as a consequence, is missing a portion of his lip. It is hard to tell unless one is looking straight at his face. I suspect he’ll heal over time. Lipless doesn’t really have a name yet because we are not planning on keeping him. He goes with the other bunnies that were born this Spring. Ahem…with the exception of a possible favourite. Check out http://beccawcorner.blogspot.com/ to see more on the bunnies.

Anyway we were sitting together trying to decide which three goals to use. After talking to my brother, who doesn’t write, the three of us decided. The verdict…
  1. Male leading character. This seems simple enough right? My sister and I have talked about this before. All my main characters are females. When it is a male there seems to be a female taking the role with him. So in one of the short stories (at least one) I hope to write a male main character.
  2. No more happly-ever-after. I can’t think of any of my stories that don’t have a happy ending. Everything always works together in everyone’s favour
  3. Home sweet home. Home is one of the most beautiful places on earth. So why don’t I write more about PA or the U.S. in general? I’m off somewhere else creating new worlds all the time. There is plenty to create right where I’m located. This is going to be fun!

I also learned an important lesson. One, don’t ask a younger brother what goals to pick. He’ll pick the ones he thinks are going to be the hardest. Two, bunnies don’t speak English. Yeah, I know, the laugh is on me.

Nonetheless there is a third more important lesson I’ve learned. Goals can be so motivating and inspiring. Now I can see which paths I haven’t taken before! I’ll have to remember to think up some goals next time I find myself stuck on an old path.

May 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Haha! I like that. Lipless. Suites the poor fellow. He’s in his new pen today outside.

    Comment by Rebecca W. | May 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Cute bunny! Umm…so what happens to the bunnies you don’t ‘keep’? Bunny stew? There’s your not happy ending. 🙂

    Comment by Eliza | May 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Aw, we haven’t given up rabbit stew as a possiblity! However my sister is hoping to sell them so she can afford food for the ones she does keep. 🙂
      We’ll see in the end but that is a possible story idea! Quite out of my box if I write it from the animals point of view. Umm…

      Comment by joyofdawn | May 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. You have quite the team helping you along! 😛 The three of you have managed to come up with some great goals, though 🙂

    Comment by AuroraLee | May 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. Lipless is so cute! My friend has a rabbit named Cracker.

    Comment by Yuuko Ichihara | May 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

