Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Update: Goals

I’ve chosen my goals and now it is time to narrow down what I’m doing every week. Hope this gets me even more focused for each weeks task. I’ve never worked on writing this way before so it will be a challenge to take the reigns of my imagination and gear then in the direction I want.

Week 2-5

 Male Leading Character

Here is the plan for my first four weeks. Each week I am taking a genre to place him in. This combines some of my pervious goal ideas.

  1. Sci-Fi: This is my first short story for the Creative workshop. I have a few ideas but I’m not sure which direction I’ll take.
  2. Villain: I’m not sure my main character will be the villain or the villain’s prey. It would be neat to see the story from both sides. I’ll save whatever is left for after the Workshop. I have no idea where this one is going.
  3. Mystery: Dropping hints like a bread trail without telling the outcome before the story’s climax. That will be a challenge for me. I always tell or someone always seems to know.
  4. Fantasy: The best for last! This should be my easiest considering I have written the most in fantasy.

Week 6-9

No More Happily Ever After

For my next four weeks I refuse to write a story with a happy ending. Like before I am using a new genre each week.

  1. Sci-Fi: Since I’ve spent the last for weeks doing boys I’m going to do this one as a girl. For some reason I always think of guys in science fiction. Maybe I’ll do an alien. I’ll leave it up to imagination.
  2. Villain: The villain must win or perhaps they both will lose.
  3. Fantasy or Mystery: Depending on how terrible, or perhaps well, I do with the last mystery this one maybe a mystery. I haven’t decided. Maybe it will be a fantasy mystery combination!
  4. Previous: Using and old idea I plan to change the ending so that it doesn’t work out in everyone’s favour. Either I’m going to love the change or hate it. I may possible use the idea I wrote out in April. If so it will be fantasy and I’ll have to trim down to bring it into a short story. Fun! 

 Week 10-13

Home Sweet Home

The last four weeks where I live or have lived. My stories are most often written in far-off places that I’m hardly ever home. It will be interesting to see what my imagination can come up with in th boundaries a certain areas.

  1. Home: Located right here on my own street, perhaps even in my back yard. I’ve decided to go completely fictional with this although there will be some true facts.
  2. Wellsboro: With its town full of beautiful old house, it will be interesting to see what I can pull from where to create this one!
  3. Muncy: Most of my life I lived in Muncy, it is where i grew up. There are so many memories I can use to incorporate what might happen to these characters.
  4. Pennsylvania: I am leaving this one completely to imagination. As long as the setting is in PA it doesn’t matter if the place is real.

Weeks 2-13

Task Master

I mentioned above how I plan to spend each week. Now this is how I want to carry it out day by day.

  1. Monday- I want to write my heart, mind, and soul out on paper for fifteen minutes. Thus I can free myself of everything I have going on of any ideas wondering around. I hope this will also help to get me focused on where to direct the story of the week.
  2. Daily- I want to spend at least an 1/2 hour each day in writing. I should be able to do at least an hour most days.
  3. Time- That block of writing I will not be looking at blogs or have Facebook open. E-mail will not distract me because I am WRITING!
  4. Page- I mostly write on notebook paper. Thus I don’t know my word count. I’m going for one college rule notebook page front and back before I consider myself finished for the day. It is usually more than that if I get on a good idea.

Quite a post! Then again this is the next thirteen weeks of my life. Well at least part of it. 🙂 Along with all this I want to be doing more blog posts and I’m sure life has some plans in mind. 😉 I’m excited and can’t wait to get started on writing!

May 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Well done, Joy. Lovely clear goals and a good task list.

    Comment by Merrilee | May 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks! Your examples helped a lot. I feel more ready for this now then I ever have for any project! I can’t wait to start writing!

      Comment by joyofdawn | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. I really love your Task Master – that seems a really good plan for the week.

    Comment by anna caro | May 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I hope so. 🙂 I’ve never set goals up like this before.

      Comment by joyofdawn | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. The hardest part of the workshop for me is going to be staying off Twitter and e-mail while writing. Time to boot up Write or Die again, methinks.

    Great goals, good lady!

    Comment by Simon L. | May 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah, I know! November’s NaNoWriMo taught me a lot about elimination. It is painful, but desperately necessary.

      Comment by joyofdawn | May 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. Good luck with the distractions. Looks like you’ve got an excellent list of tasks, though!

    Comment by AuroraLee | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. I like the no more happily ever after section. Should be really interesting! And your taskmaster is good as well.

    Comment by Natasha | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. These goals seem perfectly suited for you! Like Natasha, I also like your ‘no more happily ever after’ section — it sounds like it might be pretty challenging. Also, I like what you wrote about writing mystery and not making the answers too obvious. This sounds like it’s going to be a wonderful, and stretching, few months for you! 🙂

    Comment by owlandsparrow | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m definately interested in the no more happily section. I think I’ll add this as a future goal to work on after the workshop.

    Comment by darksculptures | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

