Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

A Day Late and a Little Short -Week 3

Goal 2.

A short story containing a villain with a male as my main character.

I was sooo close. All I had to write was the last part. Then I was stuck. I had to figure out exactly what the bad guy was doing. Sunday evening I took a walk with my brother and our dog. The moon was visible against the contrasting blue sky. That was when I struck a chord to what the whole devious plan was. Now I have the final stage of how it is going to be acted out. However, that will have to wait for another day. I’ve jotted down a few notes to remind myself what is going on.

My schedule was crazy. Somehow I still managed to do more writing then I had the week before. Unfortunately my characters didn’t want to talk to me this week unless I was typing at a computer. When I pulled out my notebook they just became as silent as a mouse, almost as if they were afraid of blank pages. Fortunately I was able to be on the computer to type. These next few weeks could get a little tricky as the laptop is being sent to the repair man.

The really neat part about these short stories is the character’s names. I have never written characters with these names. They come naturally and fit so well. I love the way this one came to life.

This weeks mystery is still quite a mysterious to myself. There is a slight idea but I’m waiting to hear from my character. He seems like a quiet man. Guess I’ll have to show up at his house and beg an audience.

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a great week, word count-wise at least. And I hate when the characters get notebook or bus or computer shy!

    Hope you get that ‘audience’ soon 🙂 Good luck next week!

    Comment by AuroraLee | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. Good luck minus the laptop! It’s always a little difficult when our medium of choice isn’t available.

    Comment by Valerie Sloan | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well done Joy! I hope the characters start talking for you when the laptop is away 🙂

    Comment by Merrilee | May 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. Good luck shaking the quiet one loose 😉

    & great for you, sticking with the schedule! I’m really struggling with the Shorts. I’m not a short story writer. I get nervous about shrinking things into such a short period of time. & not much time to edit?! OH LORD. “Every word counts in a short” but my first drafts always stink. This process has really messed with my head!

    Nevertheless, it’s always exciting to finally see the ending in sight. Even if you have to wait for another time. My first piece is my favorite so far & it wasn’t finished. I can’t wait until I’m able to go back and work on it again!!

    Comment by Melissa | May 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

