Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

It wasn’t that bad – Week 5

Goal 4.

A fantasy turned fairytale with a male main character

“Write a male Cinderella story: two mean step brothers, a mean stepfather, a wizard godfather.  See where you take the story.”

This idea I got from a prompt given by Gail Carson Levine on her blog  from the  post titled I’m a boy. Oh how I have played with the possibilities. The thing is so twisted that it no longer resembled the original plan. Nonetheless I am so happy that I’m bubbling over!

Having spent most of my week at my grandmother’s and a long visit to the hospital I have had an abundance of time for writing. Unfortunately, for my story, I spent most of the time cross stitching a bookmark. Meanwhile I did gathered ideas . It is as quiet as a library at the hospital but I did not find it a place for productivity. Something about the place squelched my creativity and sunk it after only half a page. I wasn’t pleased. In fact I became afraid I wouldn’t be able to properly write down the idea at all. I’d nearly given up when I ready over a week’s worth of Merrilee’s blog posts. There I found four sets of questions. Running upstairs to my bedroom I pulled my notebook out of my traveling bag. (Yeah I know that is the last place it should have been… I’m getting to that.)

Flipping it open to a blank page I began to answer them as follows.

1. Creativity

1a. Am I doing my daily creativity exercises?

No. Not always. I think about my stories everyday but I’m not always doing what I could and should be doing.

1b. How full is my notebook?

Maybe an eighth to a fourth of the way full. It should be more…

1c. Do I look around me and collect inspiration as I go about my day?

Yes I’m always picking up ideas and tossing them around.

1d. Am I looking for inspiration, instead of waiting for it to appear?

Yes and no. I’m looking and waiting. I am not as connected to these new characters as to many of my others. I suspect that in the future that we will and these storied will develop.

2. Focus

2a. Am I examining ideas that excite me?

Yes I’m always thinking through ideas.

2b. Have I found a particular genre or topic that really means something to me?

I’m not sure. Fantasy and adveture are what I know but Sci-Fi has really integrated itself into my thought processes. Everything gets these weird angles I don’t expect.

2c. Is my exploration leading me to new outlets for my creativity, or do I feel like I am going in circles?

Ha ha! A little of both but the circles seem to be winding down quite with each new story. When circles break wonderful things happen!

2d. Am I finding it easier to concentrate on a project on-demand, or do I get distracted easily?

Again, yes and no. Although I’m leaning more toward the no. My mind is fighting me. It wants to go back to what it is familiar with. I want to explore but I’m having trouble finding meaning to some of my short stories.

3. Productivity

3a. How many stories have I started?

Ahem… on paper or mentally? On paper four, mentally two others.

3b. How many stories have I completed?

None. (As of answering these questions.)

3c. Am I writing as often as I could be?

No.

3d. Do I bring the story to mind every day, even when I’m not writing?

Yes. It is always on the forefront of my mind. It is almost  a pest. 🙂

4. Goals

4a. Am I meeting my goals?

No.

4b. Do I remember what my goals are?

Yes…uh…no…well, maybe…

4c. Do my goals reflect my desires and where I want to go as a writer?

Yes there is always more, but one thing at a time.

4d. Am I keeping my goals in mind whenever I get excited by a new project?

No. I’m too excited and forget to look them over before I start. (I’m finding that this is a vital step.)

Once I answered them and found where I was faulty I set myself right back in the chair and got to writing. I thought I’d start off at the beginning of my tasks.

MondayI want to write my heart, mind, and soul out on paper for fifteen minutes. Thus I can free myself of everything I have going on of any ideas wondering around. I hope this will also help to get me focused on where to direct the story of the week.

So this is Saturday. I’ve got food to make for tomorrow and goats to take care of. No matter they can wait a fifteen minutes. You know what? They did to and I got my short story finished up for the week! My first short stories first draft! Yes!!! There is still sooo much work to be done on it. You know what else I found? By following that first task all the others fell right into place as they were supposed to.

It has been a crazy week but at least I got something done!

June 5, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Well done Joy! Good analysis, and you took action to address where you felt you needed to. Good on your for sitting down and getting that short story finished. Doesn’t it feel wonderful?

    Comment by Merrilee | June 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! Oh, yes it is marvelous! I’ve got to do it more often.

      Comment by joyofdawn | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. The Cinderella story sounds really interesting! It seems an obvious thing to do, but I’ve never seen it done before.

    Comment by anna caro | June 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Your right it is something ovious. Once I started playing with the idea in my mind it changed so completly that it would be hard for someone to tell what I had originally started with. It was an idea that got me thinking, sending me on an interesting path!

      Comment by joyofdawn | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well done on getting that short story finished! I think going over that list of Merrilee’s would be helpful to anyone, it’s certainly clarified things for me a bit too 🙂

    Good luck for the next block!

    Comment by J.C | June 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! Good luck to you as well! Happy writting!

      Comment by joyofdawn | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. Have you ever read The Artist’s Way? I write 3 pages of stream of consciousness every morning and I swear, it really helps to then focus on writing the stories you most need to write. Good luck in the upcoming weeks!

    Comment by Alisha | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. No I’ve never read the artist’s way. I’m looking at their website. I’ll have to look into it!
    I’ve never heard it called stream of consciousness before. I think I read about free writing or brain storming or something like that were I write without thinking too much about what I’m putting on paper. Everything that comes to mind gets written out no matter how silly it seems or if it even connects with anything. If I can’t think of anything just write anything until something comes to me. So far I haven’t had to write a lot of nothing. My thoughts seem to flow better and it is amazing what comes out in those fifteen minutes. So many times it is exactly what I’d been trying to write all along! When the fifteen minutes are up I find myself still writing! Yes it is wonderful!
    Good luck to you! Happy Writing!

    Comment by joyofdawn | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  6. Sometimes I find myself doing much more thinking than I do writing. It seems to be a common trait among beginning writers like myself and I wonder if it is also a problem for seasoned writers. It sounds as if you know where you need to work and that is half of the battle. Congrats on finishing your story!

    Comment by darksculptures | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  7. I sometimes wish there was something I could connect to my thoughts that would write out what I’m thinking. Ideas and stories flow so beautifully through my thoughts but when it comes time to sit down and write it out. The words can’t find a way to connect to paper.
    Yes knowing a problem is half the battle. The other half is the discipline to correct the problem. 🙂
    Thanks!

    Comment by joyofdawn | June 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. Yay for Joy! I’m jealous now. I did not manage to complete one story in the first block, sadly, even though some of the rough drafts were quite long.

    And just a note: I feel paralyzed in hospitals. It’s the sterile atmosphere, I think. I bet your creative muse was just reacting to that.

    Hope that the reason you were at the hospital is nothing serious and that your family and friends are all a-o.k. 🙂

    Comment by mew | June 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh no, it wasn’t serious. My grandmother went in, but everything is fine.
      Never really liked hospitals and do all I can to avoid them. I figure that somehow there must be creative there. Stories are created around hospitals. However everytime I think about them or are in them nothing comes to mind. Paralyzing…yes quite paralyzing.

      Comment by joyofdawn | June 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

