Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Week? -Week 6

Goal 5.

Science fiction story without a happy ending.

Just how has it been a whole week already? Is this really Sunday?

I’ve been so busy this week that if I was able to check the e-mail at least once a day I was happy. If I got to glance at Facebook I was thrilled. As for the blogs I’m following… I am way behind. My week is so jumbled up in my head that I can’t even remember what I did. I do remember pulling weeds, milking the goat, spending a day at the antique shop, and a big fire at a property we are cleaning up. Those were the highlights of my work. Yesterday I helped make mozzarella cheese that turned out to be ricotta. Oh well, at least it was edible and some kind of cheese. 🙂

That has nothing to do with the writing I did this week. Yes, somehow I did manage to find time to fill up my notebook pages. The story idea was to have a girl main character and work in some aliens. So far no aliens and it is to be a bitter/sweet ending. I have not completed the story but it has been fun to write. A surprising amount of it is on paper. There is a few directions I could take it and I haven’t decided.

Weeks In Review.

The most interesting thing I have noticed from the past four weeks is the different character names that have developed. Before the Creative Workshop I was experimenting with using names I hadn’t put on paper before. These short stories have produced characters with names I never thought I’d be able to use. It has been so fascinating for me!

I’m learning to write even when I think that I can’t. Learning to carry my notebook with me everywhere and use ever moment available. I’m not an expert and I still find myself with time when I don’t have my notebook. At those times I try to absorb everything that is happening around me. Then see what my character thinks about it. I like to see them disagree with me.

 Onto three more weeks of un-happy endings! Oh, it hard!

June 13, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. That’s great to hear, Joy. You are making wonderful progress!

    Comment by Merrilee | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Congrats on all the new discoveries in writing you’ve found through the course of the workshop so far. Good luck with the week ahead!

    Comment by AuroraLee | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sounds like you’re making great progress, Joy — and I’m jealous you’re managing to make cheese on top of it all. 😉 (I made my first cheese last summer from raw milk, and my hubby loved it, but have I found the time to replicate my experiment? No!)

    Comment by Meredith | June 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

