Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

The Beginings of Things -Week 9

Goal 9

Rewrite a previous novel idea into a short story, changing its happy ending to one that is sad.

I never mad it to the end. I have new ideas of how things might change. There is a good possibility that my previous formulated plan has a different path then the one I first chose. As I wrote the first draft, just before starting the Creative Workshop, I didn’t have any plans. Everything came as I went and I ran with it. Looking back over it I found some clues of possibilities that I had forgotten about. Now I have a wonderful new twist. My only problem… I could get the first part written right. I have two possible ways to begin. Either at the beginning or when all the action starts to take place. I’d like to flip back to the very beginning later on in the book but she would have to tell the story to someone she doesn’t trust. It would be too much. She could reveal it a little at a time but that would get very complicated. The reader would have to put together all the pieces. Sooo… That is what I struggled with last week.

This week I’ve begun my new short story. I have a direction I’m heading. It is a little strange but I’m liking it. I just need to sit down and write the whole thing out.

That leads to what I’ve been working on instead of writing. Well, can I really say instead? This fall I am most likely going to be teaching a beginners Creative Writing Class to home-school students. Am I nervous? Oh, yeah! Am I excited? Sure thing! The more I work on the plans the more nervous/excited I get. When it comes to worrying I keep reminding myself that it is in God’s hands. So I haven’t been doing too much of that.

Oh, and by the way I did finish that dress. All the weeds are still growing. 🙂 As for the strawberries they have slowed down. It has been so warm here that I hardly feel like doing anything most days but I think it is getting better. I played my violin again, which is a big bonus. Now I’m going to go write.

July 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like the story you’re working on will take a bit of thought but will be worth it if you are able to figure it out!

    Your teaching gig sounds totally interesting and fun! Good luck with it!

    Comment by AuroraLee | July 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Well done Dawn. Your class sounds like a great opportunity! Good luck 😀

    Comment by Merrilee | July 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

