Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

One Bad Day For A Pumpkin

Which equaled a pretty good day for me. πŸ™‚

With all those lovely rich autumn colors come pumpkins. We carve faces into them. Smash them in the street. Even a certain godmother turned one into a carriage. I’m afraid pumpkins get the bad end of the fall festivities.

The same was true for this orange fellow.


Here I’ve chopped ‘im in half and begun to clean out the seeds. I use one of Mom’s giant kitchen knives but I think it have been easier with a chain saw. πŸ˜‰

From there it is pretty simple. (Seems I’ve lost the rest of my pictures though.)

Pop the pumpkin halves, face down on the cookie sheet, into the oven at 350 degrees. For about forty-five minutes or so. You’ll know when the skin starts to bubble and turn brown.

Meanwhile, clean your house, take a nap, do some writing, or eat breakfast. Well, okay it was actually about lunchtime…

I love oatmeal! Old-fashioned oats with a bit of boiling water mixed in to thicken. One could stop there and top with a heaping tablespoon brown sugar and milk.

OR

One could add cinnamon, raisins, apple slices, peaches, strawberries, blueberries, or just about any fruit. There could be any combination of those, just don’t add chocolate chips! πŸ™‚ Dad likes to top with honey or maple syrup instead of brown sugar.

Than again no one makes oatmeal the same as another person. I learned that lesson at a friend’s house. It was some pretty awesome oatmeal but not exactly what I was used to. πŸ™‚

Anyway…

Back to the pumpkins. Once they are finished the pumpkin ‘meat’ will be a dark orange and juicy. Scoop it out of the skins like is done with the seeds before cooking. Plop it into zip-block bags and freeze. You might take a look at your favourite pumpkin recipes and see how many cups they use. Then measure out appropriately. I got about seven cups out of the pumpkin above. Now my family wants a pumpkin roll. πŸ™‚

October 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hey,
    I’m sorry that you didn’t win the blog design, but since you you entered I am offering you a free blog button. If you would like one e-mail me the order form on the “order” page of my design studio (my name at the top of this comment should link you directly to the studio) with the quesitons that apply to the blog button anwered- colors, design choices, sign-in name and password ect.

    Many thanks for entering,
    Riah

    Comment by Riah | October 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

