Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Christmas

I believed in Santa Clause until I was about five and woke up in the middle of the night to investigate the noise in the living room. I didn’t let my parent know until a few years after that. It didn’t matter because it wasn’t too many years until my family was saved through the cleansing blood of our Saviour. Dad read us the real Christmas story and Santa was soon dismissed as the lie that he is.

Have you ever taken a moment to consider the comparisons between God and Santa? He knows when your sleeping, when your good or bad, in other words he can always see you; kind of like God can. Santa and Pete will even tell you that he has the Book of Life. (Although it is a cute story.) He is even red and white. Red is for the blood Christ shed and white for the heart made white as snow after salvation, washed of sin. That is taking it an it far you say? Alright but it is something to think about.

“Thou shalt have no other gods before me.” Exodus 20:3 kjv

My grandmother was an absolute Santa Clause fan. She collected them! Let me just say she wasn’t pleased with the no Santa thing.

We came to a point where we wanted nothing to do with Christmas. It was hard to see how Christ’s birthday was so pagen-ly celebrated. What were we giving Him anyway. Besides history would like to point out the fact that Christmas (celebrating Christ’s birth right?) wasn’t even born anywhere near December.

Here is a pretty simple explanation of why Christmas is celebrated on December 25. Christmas Origin

When my family looked into this and fell into the Jeremiah 10 stuff. Fortunately the person on this webpage took a moment to think about what he was saying. He did a little studying like 2 Timothy 2:15 suggests.

So anyhow we dumped santa down the chimney and pushed the christmas tree down after him. Then we didn’t even bother to do Christmas until sometime in July if we felt like it. We were pretty miserable and our extended family was pretty sure we were crazy. They really wanted nothing to do with our beliefs. Personally, I don’t think I could blame them.

Now you have to understand that Christmas isn’t the only holiday tainted by the world. Easter bunnies and colored eggs have absolutely nothing to do with the resurrection of Christ.

It took us a few years but finally we started to see just how dark the end looked. We couldn’t talk to our family anymore. My grandmother didn’t know what to say or do. Then one year we realized how short life is. I wanted to spend every last moment I could with the Grandmother who’d cared so much for me. Coloring eggs wasn’t going to condemn me to hell. I couldn’t ee God being at all upset with giving gifts and praising Him for the first Christmas gift ever given. As long as I wasn’t bowing down of worshiping the Christmas tree, it wasn’t an idol for me. 🙂

Thus we went to Gram’s house for the holidays. She still wrote Santa on the packages at Christmas time but I knew who the true giver was. I saw her smile for the last Christmas a few years back. She’d worried over ever gift, studied magazines and catalogs until I thought she’d memorize them!

I have to say I never regretted a moment. Now she is gone and the holidays were hard to celebrate without her. This year we are back into swing. I think we are headed for the best Christmas ever! I have all my shopping done already! I’ve been playing Christmas music, wearing these awesome sweaters, and baking cookies! (I couldn’t go without the hot cocoa! 😉

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:32

Be free to sing  joy to the world no matter what time of the year it is, for He has come! Make memories worth having. Life is but a vapor and all too soon departed. Pray for each friend and family member as you wrap your gift too them.

 “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

Have a merry Merry Christmas!

P.S. Here is the other half of the story Amber. 🙂 Sorry it took so long!

December 18, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Well, my goodness, this is wonderful! 😉
    Thanks for writing this. I do feel more free. We put up our tree today & carols have been playing. Please pray that through all this Christmas fun, my eyes would stay focused on Him.

    Merry Christmas, Amber!

    Comment by Amber | December 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

