Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Almost Barely Autumn

The weather is AMAZING!! I’d leave the door open except the motorcycles and other vehicles are still driving around outside… The noise is troubling.

A friend and I can always tell when the new season is about to hit… There is this smell in the air. I’m not talking about the smell of the air in the house… (Food cooking to can = late Summer early Autumn, Musty need to open the windows = late Winter early Spring…) No NOT those ones. In the air out side there is a smell. NO not that one… That is the farmers prepping fields or letting their barns air out. This smell is like something new. Almost like that smell just before a big down pour. If you know what I mean, it is awesome. If you don’t know what I mean… well keep your nose to the air and believe me it is there. 🙂

I keep telling my sister that my birthday is in Autumn no matter WHAT the calenders say. She is always out to prove me wrong… Then again would she be my sister if she didn’t. 😀

I’ve two more weeks to decide what I want for a birthday cake. I was obsessing over ice cream cakes for the past couple years. I want something different this year… Maybe traditional. Like chocolate and peanut butter. Or maybe something that isn’t really cake at all like cherry no-bake cheesecake. See I can’t decide. We have a tradition in our house that the birthday person gets to make their own cake… unless they take the option to request another family member to do it for them. Or if they happen to be Mom and Dad… then we never let them do their own cake… Okay so my sister and I argue over who gets to do the cake! 🙂 Except for when my brother begs and pleads to do his own. Which has happened in the past. Sometimes Mom will step in and just turn us both out of the kitchen ’cause she wants to do her own baby’s cake… Who can argue with that?!

Thus my sister and I have struck up a deal. We each do our own cakes, unless otherwise specified. Then come to terms that are mutual for everyone else’s cakes. So far it works out pretty well. Now to just decide what I want… OH! Oh! I’m getting and idea… Something old, something borrowed, something blue… no it is not a wedding. Think outside the box… or should I say inside. 😉

The CD player is supposed to be on mixed and repeat… For some reason it keeps playing track four and five! Ahhh….

Peaches and leftover potato soup… Which is the BEST kind! Oh and Peach Tea! Yeah I’m kind of on a peach kick.

SOOOO I promised pictures…

looking downThis was taken at Knoebels Amusement Resort in Elysburg, PA. The girls all went on the “Big Wheel.” It was a lot of fun taking pictures from there.

Up above

 

 

Okay so amusement parks probably aren’t the best of places for me… unless I’m carrying the camera. Motion sickness throws out mast of the rides for me. Although I challenge myself to one new ride every time I go. Just to see how far I can push this Vertigo. 🙂

This time is was these swinging chairs.

It felt like flying!

 

About a week before we went to Knoebels there was the fair…

 

Plus there was this boy and his tractor…

 

… yeah it is my brother. 🙂

 

and these just look amazing!! There were some really cute quilts there too.

I’ll see you two Fridays from now… It I don’t get a chance to post before then… I’m OFF next Friday!! Woot!

Have a great few weeks!!

 

August 24, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Peach tea…..hmmmmmm….but wait!? I thought you didn’t like tea??

    I miss the days when my mom would bake my cakes….always chocolate with homemade chocolate icing…so yummy. Hey, now I want cake!

    Comment by organicmom | August 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah I don’t usually like tea… I have taken a liking to Swiss teas. They come in the gallon jugs in the cooler section… I really like the Raspberry. I’m trying to figure out a way to make my own… My grandfather is to blame… He got me started on them a few years before he passed away.
      Oh… chocolate cake chocolate icing!!! Veronica has a REALLY really good recipe.

      Comment by joyofdawn | August 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. I love my own chocolate icing but would love a recipe for chocolate cake!

    Comment by orthodoxmom3 | September 3, 2012 | Reply

    • 🙂 lol Glad she was able to get it for you!

      Comment by joyofdawn | September 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

