Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Happy 2013

Sorry I missed last weeks post. I wasn’t busy at the shop I just got so wound up in my movies and crocheting that I forgot until it was about time to go home. Next post will be on Tuesday. Unless we get a MAJOR snowstorm and I don’t have to come in. 😉 So not happening.

Started the day off my hitting the snooze button… A couple of times. I love the music CD that turns on at the set time. I just didn’t care to wake up after going to bed around one o’clock. It was my own fault, well and the showers fault too… It wouldn’t warm up and I just wasn’t tired enough to go to bed anytime sooner. 

We are out of oatmeal and cereal and bread. I had an apple after I swallowed my vitamins. Those things taste funny. My snack was a granola bar, which I bought when we went down to visit my Gram on Tuesday. It was sort of a last minute decision to run down there but I was glad we did. Although we should have taken dinner. I was starving when we stopped at WalMart on the way home. That was of course when I bought my tortillas and granola bars. (Clif Crunch Chocolate Chip and they are awesome!) Plus two giant bundles of yarn. I don’t plan to stop crocheting anytime soon obviously. 🙂

Lunch was yogurt, honey, and more granola! 😀 There is tortillas and salsa for later… If I need them. I’ve been craving them again. I do that occasionally. By the way, Mom’s new diet plan thingy is called the Trim Down Club. As far as I can tell it seems pretty good. They have menus which we do a pretty good job of changing around. 🙂 Plus if my brother and sister decide to sneak in pizza it isn’t that big a deal. Mom hasn’t quite decided to try making spelted wheat flour. We have the stuff just not the proper motivation yet. I’m sure something will come up. Wegmans seems to carry some of the breads and crackers and such that she wants to try. Her and Con are planning a trip sometime. 

Con, my brother, is like the best GPS system available to us. That is beside the fact that his new phone has GPS and internet. He is one of the few of us who is willing to cross the line of stay at home and explore the realm of the geographical plane. Mom and I… we just go out get lost and call home. 🙂 That conversation sounds a little like this.

Mom on the cell. “Hi, we are lost.”

Dad at home. “Where are you?”

Mom. “I think we are still in NY.”

Dad. “Where at?”

Mom. “I don’t know. On this highway.”

Dad. “What highway? What are the signs?”

Mom. “I don’t know. The one we were supposed to be on.”

Yeah it is a little like that. Thanks to Dad, road signs, internet maps, and a God who answers prayer, we always find our way back home. The journey is always fun even if it isn’t always successful. So if you ever hear or read about me going on a road trip… You better pray very Very hard. 😉 Because I’m pretty sure that my geography and map skills come from my Mom. We once got lost while taking a walk… before we had cellphones. The walk lasted three hours because instead of turning around I thought that it couldn’t be that much farther… 🙂 It was still fun but I think it took us all a while to go on another walk. Now when my sister and brother hear Mom ask me which way to go… they pretty much vote for the opposite choice. 😀

New Year! New opportunities. And a cold chill that doesn’t seem to want to warm up. Mom has acquired another cleaning job for the end of this week and beginning of next. Plus she placed a bid in on a job. For some reason people like to have their homes cleaned and ready to sell or rent in the middle of winter. This usually isn’t a problem for Mom unless they are winterized homes. We have to carry water. Usually the heat and/or electric are off. Plus she can’t get any water or cleaners down any sinks, tubs, and/or toilets. They are pretty miserable cleaning jobs. Fortunately we don’t get too many like that.

Besides that I’ve been sewing as much as possible. There is a baby shower in a few days and I’m running too far behind schedule for comfort. My sewing machine and seam ripper are working great but the timing is just off. Where I sew is upstairs and I make a lot of noise. So if someone is sleeping… well they don’t like me. 😉 

Mom and I have been exercising with the X-Box as much as possible. If Con is home then we don’t because we distract from school. That just isn’t acceptable at the moment since we are trying to squeeze in as much school as possible right now. He has so many outside things that he does it is hard to keep him in his books. Recently he really loves reading. It is amazing since he used to hate it. I got him to read The Hobbit before the movie came out! (Which we haven’t gone to see.) Now he is reading the Percy Jackson series and burning right through them. 

I think that is about it. I’m over my cold! That is one of the best feelings ever. 

The shop has been super slow today. I have some crocheting to get to… Maybe a movie. Later a nap? No, it’ll be sewing.

January 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I never learned how to crochet, once upon a time I knew how to knit and tat, but it’s been so long I’m not sure I can anymore…

    Comment by Mariah | January 12, 2013 | Reply

    • I think knitting is probably harder than crocheting but I wouldn’t really know. 🙂 The basic stitch is a chain and it is pretty simple. The double crochet seems to be my best friend lately. I have been doing a shell pattern which includes both the previously mentioned stitches. Maybe I will write a post about it some time.
      I have never actually seem tatting done before. I have seen a few pieces that were tatted at the shops on occasion. They were nice but showed their age pretty well.

      Comment by joyofdawn | January 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

