Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

The Novelty of a Letter in Your Mailbox

It isn’t like an email and has a completely different feel to it than chatting on FB. Soooo why don’t people send more letters? Well I don’t pretend to really know the answer to that, but if you want to see something neat… Send an adorable, or some kind of nice, letter to someone.
I did this for a friend who really needed some encouragement… Well honestly … I do it for several friends not just for encouragement anymore but just for the fun of sending letters! Once you sends out a letter… The recipient, of said letter, will most likely want to return the gesture. An if they are really good, they will get you set up where you have to keep sending letters in order to receive the remainder of a story or a deck of card containing all these great things about you…. I can’t explain… I just can’t.
Sis gave me this wax seal as a Christmas present… It is a bit tricky to figure out how to use at first but the results are really very neat! You know what I’m talking about? The things where you melt the wax and pour it on the fold of your envelope where a seal or sticker or tape would go? The place where you lick the envelope to close it. Yeah, there. And then they press this metal piece into the wax… Mine has a letter ‘A’ on it but in the old days it was sometimes a crest. It leaves the indent behind in the wax. It makes for an sophisticated  looking envelope! 😀
When I send a letter out it is about making someone else smile. To let them know someone is going through the same things they are. It is sharing a piece of your life with someone. When they receive it they know that their important to you. Someone is thinking about them and cares enough to take the time to write it out. It is special and unique… An art the has faded from the world of technology in the age of all things in speed.
I’m happy to be someone who keeps it still in existence and I’m thankful to those who send me replies. You keep me smiling! 🙂

November 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. My Godmother writes long letters that are always so nice to receive… I’m not the best at sending back yet… I do, but mine are shorter… but still- it’s so nice to get that personal card or letter in the mail. So maybe I’ll sit down and write out a couple this week! Thanks for the reminder!

    Comment by orthodoxmom3 | November 11, 2013 | Reply

    • Your welcome! It is a little like getting and early Christmas present. 😀

      Comment by joyofdawn | November 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

