Joy Of Dawn

Each new day shows His grace, love, and mercy

Handing It All Over

Blank page…
Staring at a blank page thinking of a million things I could write and post. I don’t even know where to start cause it has been such a long time. Things are busy and the road to where I am at this very moment has been a bit bumpy but completely in the hands of God. He has been there for me at every turn. No matter what I have to struggle with, He has given me everything I’ve needed and so much more.
“There’s a peace in my heart that the world never gave,
A peace it cannot take away;
Though the trials of life may surround like a cloud,
I’ve a peace that has come here to stay!”

He has given me everything I have and I know that no matter what has happened or will happen in my future I couldn’t be more blessed. Why? Well, because He is constantly abiding with me.
“Constantly abiding, Jesus is mine;
Constantly abiding, rapture device;
He never leaves me lonely, whispers, O so kind:
“I will never leave thee,” Jesus is mine.”

A lot of it is faith… Believing He will be there for me when I need Him most. He doesn’t have to be… but He promised He would be. For me it has always been like some little test of His to see if I’ll trust Him enough to let Him have whatever it is I’m dealing with in life. It can’t just be words either, He knows when I really hand it over to Him with all my heart, soul, and mind.
“I care not today what the morrow my bring,
If shadow or sunshine or rain,
The Lord I know ruleth o’er everything,
And all of my worries are vain.

Though tempests may blow and the storm clouds arise,
Obscuring the brightness of life,
I’m never alarmed at the overcast skies-
The Master looks on at the strife.

I know that He safely will carry me through,
No matter what evils betide;
Why should I then care though the tempest may blow,
If Jesus walks close to my side.

Living by faith in Jesus above,
Trusting, confiding in His great love;
From all harm safe in His sheltering arm,
I’m living by faith and feel no alarm.”

Trusting in the God who has already done so much for me, before I was even born, should be an easy task. However it isn’t as easy as it should be. Handing over your life to someone, no matter how much you love them, is hard, because it is no longer your own to control. The outcome of what happens maybe completely different from what you had in mind. Once your control is handed over… What happens to you is up to the one you handed it over to.
I really liked a reading Passion and Purity written by Elizabeth Elliot. One of the things I keep remembering from the book is this… “”If God gave it to me,” we say “it’s mine. I can do what I want with it.” No. The truth is that it is ours to thank Him for and ours to offer back to Him, ours to relinquish, ours to lose, ours to let go of – if we want to find our true selves, if we want real Life, if our hearts are set on glory.”
I’ve been learning to hand everything over to God. Nonetheless I think it is one of those lifetime lessons that I’ll never quite master. There always seems to be one more thing to give Him control of. Always.
Psalm has always been inspirational to me. My wonderful boyfriend and I have been taking time to study it together. It has been such a joy. I’m also being reminded constantly how good God really is, through His word as well as in my own life experiences.
“Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” Psalm 37:5

March 23, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

